DIY

DIY Faux Fur Vest – No Sew!

Funnily enough, my first official blog isn’t even about crochet! But those blogs will surely come πŸ™‚

Anyways, it’s finally cold here in Auckland! The trend this winter is definitely fur vest. They have been popping up everywhere! Catalogues, magazines, shop windows, my Facebook feed, you name it, it’s there. I’ve been surfing the web looking at the prices of all these beautiful, luxurious looking warm vest and they cost $50+ :O I’m sorry but I do not want to be spending that much money. So I surf the web again, this time looking to see if there are any good, easy, no sew instructions online. Of course, there is… I found love Maegan’s postΒ and I just had to try it!

We have a big craft store called Spotlight here in New Zealand. I head there first to look for any faux fur fabrics. They have a really nice selection but the kind of fur I wanted for my vest was too pricey, I might as well just buy an already made one. So I head to good old Ikes. This is my local craft store. It’s smaller hence the small selection but I found what I wanted for a very good price. Half a metre of beautiful, luxurious, soft, very furry fabrics for only $12.50! I should add that I only need half a metre because I’m really short… Not even 150cm… I wear heels all the time…

Back to the topic! Maegan used a sweater for her DIY but I decided to use another vest instead.

IMG_20160323_210505
Sorry for the crappy lighting guys… I did this in my room which isn’t very bright…

I traces the armholes and started cutting! I whimpered, “I’m sorry…” to it as I was cutting… I know it’s not real fur but it seems such a crime cutting such beautiful fabric 😦 As a revenge, there was fur everywhere though!

IMG_20160323_211333
After I finished chop chopping!

I was then left with two oval-ish shape. I set them aside to be used later. (Stay tune to see what I did to them at another blog post πŸ˜‰ )

According to Maegan, I’m finished! So I promptly put it on and snap a couple of shots in my bathroom! The bathroom is the only place with a full length mirror and my husband sucks at taking photos…

IMG_20160323_220941
Wear them without a belt…
IMG_20160323_221338
Or with!

Ahhh… Better lighting πŸ™‚ (And, yes, those are washi tape on my mirror and some drawings… I have a 3 years old, guys…)

I love the vest so much! I think they actually look better than the ones in the shops! I do need to get a better belt though…

Thanks Maegan!

Love,

Abi

One thought on “DIY Faux Fur Vest – No Sew!

Leave a Reply

