Crochet · DIY

DIY Pom – Pom Fur + Guide to crocheting an owl hat!

Remember those fur cut outs from my vest?

IMG_20160323_211333
Those one?

Well now is the time to do something with it!

I’ve decided to turn them into pom-poms to add to my crochet hats 🙂 It seems to be what everyone on Instagram is doing right now…

It’s a simple process. All you gotta do is get those cutouts (or if you don’t have one, cut a circle) and sew across the edge like this:

IMG_20160330_180827[1].jpg

Now, my cutout is pretty small, but if yours is bigger or if you want to make it more round, add a stuffing inside. You want it to have this ruched effect when you pull the thread tight.

IMG_20160330_180908[1].jpg
Like this!
You want to keep sewing all around the edges.

IMG_20160330_181133[1]IMG_20160330_181143[1].jpg

Above is what they look like half way through from 2 different angles. When you’ve gone all the way around, pull the thread tight but don’t break it.

IMG_20160330_181433[1].jpg

This is what the pom-pom should look like after you’ve pull it tight. Sew that small hole close (be careful, this can be quite tricky…).

IMG_20160330_181437[1].jpg

And… Ta-da!!! You’ve got your very own fur pom-pom. You can do whatever you like with this pom-pom. If you’ve got lots, you can sew them all together so they become a rug or a wall hanging, or you can turn them into keychains! I chose to attach mine to my hat 🙂

IMG_20160330_182111[1].jpgIMG_20160330_182229[1]

That above is one of the many, many crochet hats I have… I don’t exactly have a pattern to make it but I do have a guide 🙂 Sorry no pictures for guidance guys 😦

I started by making the owl. I started by crocheting some chains in multiples of 10 then single crochets for about 2 or 3 rows. Then I followed this tutorial to make the owl. I improvised and modified the patterns a bit to make 5 owls and to make it in the rounds. Now this make the owls from the head first, which means your crochet piece will be upside down. So after I finished the bottom part of the owls, I crochet another 2 or 3 rows of single crochet, then I fasten off. I then decided to make the head band part. All I did was chain 7, sc in the 2nd ch from hook, sc all the way across, ch1, turn, sc all the way across, and I kept going until the head band is long enough to around my head. I always make mine just a little bit shorter since the head band will stretch over time. I fasten off, sew the edges together then sew the headband to the main hat piece. To finish off the hat, I re-attach the yarn, sc all the way around until it reached the desired height, then I sew the edges close (just like I saw the edges of the fur cutouts). Ta-da!!! Now just attach your pom-poms and eyes for your owls! I keep forgetting to buy and attach eyes to mine…

IMG_20160330_182252[1].jpg
Can you see the owl?
IMG_20160330_191906[1].jpg
Can you see it now with the eyes drawn on? Those are where the buttons will be sewn on.
I hope you guys like this long post 🙂 Don’t hesitate to comment if you need any help 🙂

Leave a Reply

