DIY · Makeup

Homemade Deodorant

I don’t actually use deodorant on a day to day basis. In fact, I can go for weeks without deodorant. But I was still intrigued by the idea of a homemade deodorant. First, a little background story. In New Zealand, deodorants only come in 2 formats, aerosol and liquid. Second, my aunties are firm believer of not using deodorants. They’ve never touched the stuff in fact! They believe that deodorants can give you cancer. Personally, I never believe them when they talk about stuff that can cause cancer since they get most of their info from shared messages that has been circulating social media. As a qualified librarian, those messages can be inaccurate and unreliable with no proper authority or actual evidence. If you do want to find out more deodorants and the risk of cancer, go to the library and ask the librarian how to use a database like EBSCOHost. Articles on a databases like EBSCOHost are more genuine and accurate than articles from a magazine or blogs. I was still interested in making deodorant though. It appealed to my creative side plus when I travel (especially on planes) it’ll be easier to bring a deodorant bar rather than a liquid or aerosol.

So I found a recipe from Thank Your Bodyย that sounds easy to follow ๐Ÿ™‚ I also found these cute Pokemon molds in the op shop! You might’ve seen the Mew mold from my homemade lotion/massage bar post.

p70110-2000531
Jigglypuff, Pikacu and Mew!

The recipe ended up only filling up 2 of the molds.

p70110-2046431
Again, sorry for the messy counter top… And I poked one of them to see if they’ve harden… Whoops…

I took them out about 2-3 hours later and store them in a plastic container. This is what they looked like.

p70111-1102151
Jigglypuff turned out slightly better than Pikachu, I think…

I’ve only just used them this morning. They’re more of ย harder balm and will leave a little bit of stickiness on your underarms. They won’t draw out and absorb moisture but they do smell nice!

I’ve never used this kind of deodorant before so I’m not entirely sure how they’re supposed to feel or do or what kind of consistency they should be, but I do like them and will continue using these guys instead of my store-bought deodorant ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Homemade Deodorant

Leave a Reply

