DIY · Makeup · Uncategorized

Update: DIY Homemade Lip Balm Using Superfood Powder

Please see original post if you haven’t already 🙂

Over the weekend, I contemplated whether or not I want to continue on this homemade makeup journey. As I sat in front of my table with my makeup drawer open, looking through the leftover makeup I have (I’ve sold most of them and the few I kept are either being used for comparison reasons e.g. lipstick colors, Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation, which is my perfect shade, or because I love them e.g. Kat von D Light and Shade palette, Too Faced Peanut Butter palette, Colourpop eyeshadows), I realize that I really do not want to put on any more unnecessary chemicals on my face, especially while looking at the ingredients list of my beloved Double Wear foundation. I must admit I don’t know what the ingredients do or what side effect they give, but I just really don’t want to put it on my face anymore. Plus making my own makeup appeal to my creative side!

In that same weekend, I was also watching Marie from Humblebee and Me on YouTube. She was making a tinted lip balm. In her video, I saw that after adding the pigments, she kept mixing the concoction thoroughly until it becomes a little bit thick. She said that this is so that the liquid part become thick enough to hold the heavier pigments. This way the pigments won’t settle at the bottom when it is poured out to the container. None of the blog posts I read on how to make tinted lip balms mentioned this! I still suspected, however, that the superfoods powder still would not mix properly and give color. Nevertheless, I was curious and wanted to try out this tip.

So back I go to the kitchen, measuring out ingredients, melting and mixing.

I decided to make a lip balm based on Wellness Mama’s simple recipe. To that recipe, I added 2 tsp of raspberry powder, which is a nice pink color rather than the deep, dark red of beetroot powder.

True enough, when I poured out the lip balm into the container, the pigments did not settle at the bottom. I left it for a night before I tried it out.

p70115-1214491
This is what they looked like in the morning. 

Above, from the left, are my bare lips, one layer of lip balm and then 2 layers of lip balm. As you can see, they did give me a little bit of color. Just enough so that my lips don’t look so pale, but, personally, not enough color for me yet. Also, if you zoom in on my lips, especially the one with 2 layers of lip balm, you can see little granules of the raspberry powder that just would not mix in properly with the balm. While I definitely would not be throwing this one away (I’m running out of lip balm anyways and this would still be perfect on no-makeup days), I will still be purchasing proper pigments to create the desired level of opacity I want in a lip color.

3 thoughts on “Update: DIY Homemade Lip Balm Using Superfood Powder

Leave a Reply

