DIY · Makeup · Uncategorized

Homemade Mineral Makeup + Liquid Foundation!

I did it! My new makeup ingredients came in the mail today and I get right on to making homemade foundation, this time using new recipes that should hopefully work (since they don’t contain food ingredients).

This time I followed the recipes from Humblebee and Me and Wellness Mama. I made the mineral makeup first since I’ll be needing that to make the liquid foundation.

Here’s what the mineral makeup look like.

p70120-1512341
Perfect match!

Get ready to be bombed by selfies… Also I always took photos in front of my kitchen window, since it’s the best natural lighting I have (no filter ever!). So if the lighting changes, it’s because the light outside changes. And whenever I mentioned ‘left’ here, I meant my left,so your right.

p70120-1501521
Here is my bare face.
p70120-1501581
You can barely see it, but the left side of my cheek has this little red marks, and it’s also red on the side of my nostrils.
p70120-1502071
Here’s what the mineral foundation looks like on.
p70120-1510581
And the left side of my cheek! The light went quite bright when I took this picture…

I don’t know if you can tell, but on the last photo, I can see that the mineral makeup has covered up the red marks on my face and reduce the redness around my nostrils!

Next I get on to making the liquid foundation. I wiped off the left side of my cheek and my nose to test the coverage and colour. A note here though, my nose is my problematic area. I have the largest pores on my nose that just sucks in foundation. I always struggle with this area and as far as I can remember, the only foundation that works on my nose is the Maybelline Matte and Poreless.

Here’s the next set of selfies!

p70120-1600101
The foundation going on.
p70120-1602221
I used a flat top foundation brush to blend it in, but I think using a beauty blender would be faster. With the brush, I had to take the extra time to blend in the streaks.
p70120-1602241
This is after one layer of foundation and a bit more just on the middle of my cheeks.
p70120-1602271
With mineral makeup on top.
p70120-1604211
Left cheek with mineral makeup on top.

p70120-1613071

Overall, the foundation goes on as a medium coverage foundation. You can build it up a little bit. The consistency of this foundation is light and creamy. It won’t run down your arm but it’s not too thick either. It did cover up my red marks and slightly cover the redness around my nostrils. It’s the type of foundation you’d want to set with a powder, and even then there’s still a wee bit of tackiness. In saying that though, if you touch your face, the foundation wouldn’t come off and the tackiness is at such a minimal level, that it’s not a bother at all. The foundation does have a smell. It does go away once you put the foundation on. Unfortunately, as expected, this foundation does sinks into the large pores in my nose.  I wasn’t too disappointed since I wasn’t expecting it to be able to cover my pores. Afterall, even Estee Lauder Double Wear can’t do a thing about my nose.

Overall, I love both of the foundation I made!!! I am still waiting on Marie Rayma’s (from Humblebee and Me) book. Once it is here, I would love to try out her liquid foundation recipe.

I can now safely say that I will continue to use both of these foundation and will now sell my other store-bought foundation 🙂

By the way, if you live in New Zealand, you can get your ingredients/supplies from:

One thought on “Homemade Mineral Makeup + Liquid Foundation!

Leave a Reply

