Crochet · DIY

My Collection of Crochet Footwear with Flip Flop Soles

I must admit that for a wee while now, I’ve always wanted to crochet a footwear with actual soles on them. I just don’t know how to. Luckily, Jess from Make and Do Crew  came up with a brilliant idea! Why not use flip flop soles??? (Or jandals, as we call them here in New Zealand). Although I did follow her instructions, I did make a few tweaks here and there to suit me, as well as using my own patterns to make these awesome crochet footwear.

I have quite a collection now and I already have another idea in mind!

P70220-144341[1]

This one was the first crochet footwear I’ve ever created. I saw a picture on Instagram of something similar and instantly fell in love! Unfortunately, at that time, the pattern was not yet up. I got impatient and just started making it by myself! So, although similar, this pattern is an original by me. If you’d like to create this for yourself, the actual pattern for the ones I saw on Instagram is now up and you can click here to view it.

You can also see from this picture, that while Jess crocheted her base, I did a blanket stitch. I was just too afraid that my hook would rip the soles…

P70226-094344[1]

This sneaker-looking one is also an original pattern by me! I’m quite proud of it and it’s super comfy!

P70304-141331[1]

This one is for my mum. It’s the least “flashy” out of all the footwear I’ve created, but that’s because my mum doesn’t like “flashy” stuff. This is a simple slipper and the pattern is also an original by me. I want to try making it with cotton yarn, but for now that other footwear idea I was talking about earlier is pressing my mind harder than this one.

P70304-145413[1]

This ballerina slipper is so sweet! I modified a pattern for this one, although, now  I can’t find it in my notes where I got the pattern from…

P70304-145814[1]P70304-145829[1]

Ah, here is another original I’m immensely proud of!

IMG_20170308_110418[1]

Making slipper boots on flip flop soles turned out to be harder than expected! This is my ankle boots with cable stitch at the top. It’s an original pattern, it’s pretty, but it can be a bit frumpy…

P70315-115651[1]

And here is the boots I’ve just finished! The foot part of this boot is different than the other one, which is why it’s not frumpy. It also has a cable design. I made this pretty high, but I can easily stop at anytime and made this from anywhere from ankle boots to thigh boots!

For those of you wanting to create some crochet footwear with flip flop soles, do go to Make and Do Crew‘s website for instructions, patterns and helpful videos!

I am planning to open up an Etsy shop where I can sell my crochet footwear and other crochet things. However, since my little baby is due to pop out in a month, I think I’ll wait a few months before I open the shop. I’ll be sure to let you know though!

Bye for now!

5 thoughts on “My Collection of Crochet Footwear with Flip Flop Soles

    1. Absolutely! It’s easier on the feet too when you use proper soles. I found that when using crochet soles, it’ll eventually wear down and become hard, so it almost kind of hurt when walking… Although keep in mind that these even with normal soles, these crochet footwear can not really be taken hiking or anything like that 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

