Crochet · DIY

Guide to Crochet Heart Top in Any Size!

I’m back from my self-imposed maternity break! For those of you wondering, both baby and I are doing fine. The baby is healthy and she sleeps really well! Which is the reason why I’m able to still crochet and post a new tutorial after only 3 weeks of giving birth.

Anyways, about a month or so ago while I was scrolling through Instagram, I came across this photo by Erin Beth. Wow! This girl is so talented and her creations are so pretty! Now obviously, the top I saw here is knitted. I can’t knit. But the top is just so pretty and I want one! So ever since then, making this top in a crochet form has been in my to-do lists (that list is really long by the way, guys…).

And since the baby sleeps so well, I’ve managed to actually make one!

P70507-121149P70507-121153[1]

I wanted to make this really easy and in one piece so I did the top in the rounds. Which is why the heart is kind of leaning sideways. I’ll show you how to make the top in rows as well. To make this top, you will need to know how to make a ch, a sl st, a sc, a HDC and a FPDC.

So to make this top, I went by this chart from this website:

Since I am a size small, I started off by making a chain that is 76cm long. That is, the measurement of the chest times 2. We’re making twice the length suggested since we want to make this top in one piece. We will be joining the chain and there’s your front and back piece (or your body piece). Alternatively, you can also just chain however many you want! In the next round you will ch1 (does not count as a stitch) and HDC in each st around then join to the first HDC made. ย Then I did what I called ‘the base’ rounds. These are the rounds you will be making before you start making your heart. If you start making the heart right away, your heart will end up near the bottom. This is fine if you’re making a crop top, otherwise it’ll look kind of weird… In the second picture above, you can see that I did about 12 rounds of HDC before I start making my heart. You can crochet however many rounds you want. If you want to make a crop top, crochet less of the base rounds. If you want to make a dress, crochet more of the base rounds. Remember to start each round with a ch 1. This will not count as a stitch. It’s there just as a step up. You will then close each round by joining it to the first HDC made.

Once you’ve got your base rounds, you can start on the heart. To do that, first find where you want the heart to be positioned. I found mine by folding my piece in half, then marking where the fold is. In this way my heart will be in the middle.

To make the heart I followed this image I found on Google:

So, I ch 1 (does not count as a stitch) and crochet a HDC in each stitch until the last stitch before the marked stitch. In the marked stitch, I crochet a FPDC around its post (imagine this as the first red square at the bottom of the graph). Then I did a HDC in the next and in each st around. Join to the first HDC made. Basically, you will place a FPDC in each red square of the graph above, while the white squares are your HDCs.

For the next row, I crochet a HDC in each stitch until the second to last stitch before the marked st/previous row’s FPDC. Then I did a FPDC in the next 3 stitches and follow that up with a HDC in each stitch around. Close the round by joining it to the first HDC made.

I kept going like this while checking the graph above to find where to place my next FPDC. So in the next round, I will be making a HDC in each stitch until the second to last stitch before the first FPDC of the last round, then a FPDC in the next 5 stitches, then a HDC in each of the remaining stitches. For the next rounds, you will keep making a HDC in each stitch until the second to last stitch before the first FPDC of the previous round, then make a FPDC in the next st and in each FPDC across, then a FPDC in the stitch directly after the last FPDC of the previous round. From there, you will make a HDC in each of the remaining stitches. Keep increasing the number of FPDCs in each round until there are 15 FPDCs. Then do 3 rounds of no increases.

In the next round, you will make a HDC in each HDC until the stitch before the first FPDC of the previous round. Do a FPDC in each of the next 7 FPDCs, 1 sc in the next FPDC, and 1 FPDC in each of the next 7 FPDCs. Do a HDC in each of the remaining stitches.

In the next round, you will make a HDC in each stitch until the first FPDC of the previous round. Then do a FPDC in each of the next 6 FPDCs, 1 sc in the sc of the previous round, then a FPDC in each of the next 6 FPDCs. Do a HDC in each of the remaining stitches.

In the next round, you will make a HDC in each stitch until the first FPDC of the previous round. Then do a FPDC in each of the next 4 FPDCs, 1 sc in each of the next 3 sts, then 1 FPDCs in each of the next 4 FPDCs.

Don’t forget to ch 1 the at the start of each round to be used as a step up, and joining each round to the first HDC made.ย Do a HDC in each of the remaining stitches.

Once I’ve finished my heart, I did another 5 rounds of HDC before fastening off. Then I finish off by making straps. I did this by putting the crochet piece against my body and marking where I want the straps to go. Then I just did rows of sc long enough to go around my shoulder, before I slip stitch it to the other side. Do the same to the other side.

Boy, I hope you guys understand that… This is why I don’t write and sell crochet patterns…

Like I said before, since I made this in the round, my heart ended up going sideways. I personally don’t mind this, but if you want to make it straight, you can either try blocking it, or make the top in rows instead.

To do that, you can either make it in 1 piece, which you will then fold in half and stitch together, or you can make a front and a back piece. So if you’re a size small, you can either make a chain that is 76 cm long (do not join) or make two chains that are 38 cm long each. Make the base rows and figure out where you want the heart to be, and mark it.

To make the heart, do 1 HDC in each HDC until the stitch before the marked stitch. 1 FPDC in the marked stitch, and do a HDC in each of the remaining stitches.

For the next row, do a sc in each st around.

For the next row, you will do a HDC in each st until the second to last st before the FPDC of the previous 2 rows. Then do a FPDC in the HDC directly before the FPDC of the previous 2 rows, 1 FPDC in the next FPDC, then 1 FPDC in the HDC directly after the FPDC of the previous 2 rows. Basically, you are ignoring 3 sc’s in the previous row. Continue the row with a HDC in each st across.

IMG_20170507_144715[1]IMG_20170507_145806P70507-141830P70507-141856P70507-141952P70507-142012IMG_20170507_145953

Do another row of sc.

P70507-142123
This is what the back should look like now.

In the next row, make a HDC in each HDC until the second to lastย st before the FPDC of the previous 2 rows. Then do a FPDC in the HDC directly before the FPDC of the previous 2 rows, 1 FPDC in each of the next FPDC, then 1 FPDC in the HDC directly after the FPDC of the previous 2 rows.

P70507-142337
Front
P70507-142345
Back. You can see the ignored sc’s.

Keep going until you have 15 FPDCs and then refer to the heart graph to see where to place your next FPDC ๐Ÿ™‚

Once you’ve completed your heart, do as many rows of HDC as you want before fastening off and sewing the open edges close. Go on and make your straps now!

I really hope you guys understand all this. I’m not the best at writing patterns… Feel free to leave a comment if there’s any questions!

I hope to have better photos in my Instagram tomorrow!

P.S: Here are some better pictures! As you can see in the pictures below, I added 3 more rounds of HDC around the neck. I had leftover yarns and since I am pretty darn small and short, the strap I created for myself turned out to be a bit long. Since I didn’t want to expose that much cleavage, I added the rounds. Remember to measure your straps! Also, take into account the yarn you’re using, e.g. the material, the stretch, the weight…

P70508-114158[1]P70508-114203[1]P70508-114212[1]

 

2 thoughts on “Guide to Crochet Heart Top in Any Size!

  1. What a cute top! Good job translating the knit to crochet! I love patterns like this that can be easily modified for other sizes. I like the leaning heart – I thought it was an intentional part of the design! Congratulations on the birth of your daughter! Glad to hear mama and baby are doing well! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you can understand the instructions ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m not very good at writing them haha! I’m currently working on something else that can be made in any size ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

