Crochet · DIY

Crochet Children’s Yoke in Any Size!

My dream of having a little girl has come true! Now I have my own little doll that I can dress up in the clothes I’ve made for her! Well, almost… My daughter is quite small. Below average but healthy (which is all that matters really for parents) πŸ™‚ So the dresses I’ve made for her doesn’t really quite fit yet. But she’s gaining weight and hopefully soon she will fit the pretty dresses πŸ™‚

Anyways, if you crochet and have Pinterest, then maybe you’ve come across this picture

Como tejer un saco-campera-cardigan-chambrita a crochet o ganchillo paso a paso

This particular one comes from Mundo Crochet. While this website looked like it has detailed instructions on how to make the yoke, it is all in another language. Google Translate doesn’t really help in this case. So I’ve turned to Youtube and other websites in English for help. And by now, I think I’ve figured it out. And I want to impart this knowledge on you!

The graph above can help us make 2 different types of yoke. I’ll be showing you both πŸ™‚

For this example, I will be making the yoke for size 0 to 6 months (0 a 6 meses above).

To start with, you will need to chain however many chains the graph tells you to plus 3 (for the starting chain). These numbers will be inside the box. So for 0-6 months, I need to crochet a chain of 54 + 3. For premature babies, chain a chain of 40 + 3, for newborn, 46 +3, for 6-12 months, 58 + 3, and etc… Now, if you look at the graph of whatever size you’re doing, you’ll see that there are 5 numbers. For 0-6 months, these numbers are 8, 11, 16, 11 and 8. These numbers tell me how many DC I must create before doing a chain 1. So for the second row, I will doing a DC in the 4th ch from hook and in each of the next 7 sts (I do not count the ch 3 as a st. From here onward, ch 3s are turning chains only). Then, I will ch 1, and continue making DC in each of the next 11 sts, ch 1, DC in each of the next 16 sts, ch 1, DC in each of the next 11 sts, ch 1, DC in each of the next 8 sts.

P70507-154416[1]P70507-155603[1]

So, as another example, if you are making a size premature, you will be making a DC in the 4th ch from hook and in each of the next 5 sts, ch 1, DC in each of the next 8 sts, ch 1, DC in each of the next 12 sts, ch 1, DC in each of the next 8 sts, ch 1, DC in each of the next 6 sts.

Then for the following rows onward, you will ch 3 (turning ch), DC in each DC, then do a DC, ch 1, DC, in each ch 1 spaces.

P70507-155811[1]P70507-160358[1]

Keep going like this!

As you progress, this is how your piece will start to look.

P70508-114425[1]

This is how you fold it.

P70508-114449[1]P70508-114457[1]P70508-114511[1]

You will keep going like this until you’ve reached the measurements the graph gave. So for size 0-6 months, I need to keep crocheting until, when folded, my piece measures 11 cm across. For size premature and newborn, your piece need to measure 9 cm across, for 6-12 months, 12 cm, etc..

P70508-114542[1]
I still need to keep going until I’ve reach 11 cm!Β 
Once you’ve reached the measurements required, you will now form the armholes.

To do that, you will DC in each DC until you reach the ch 1 space. In the ch 1 space, you will create a DC, then create a DC in the next ch 1 space. Yes, you will be skipping a whole lot of DC here. Continue making DC until you reach the next ch 1 space. Make 1 DC in the ch 1 space, then make another DC in the next ch 1 space, therefore skipping a while lot of DC again.

P70508-122739[1]P70508-122939[1]P70508-123002[1]P70508-123048[1]

Here’s what the armhole should look like:

At the end of the row, you can either keep turning your piece, or you can join your piece by slip stitching to the top of the beginning ch 3. Either way, keep making DC in each DC, excluding the armholes.

IMG_20170508_142229[1]
This is what the piece should look like when you open it. Crochet along the bottom there, but do not crochet in the armholes (the red lines).Β 
P70508-131521[1]

This is what my piece looked like after I kept going for a while:

P70508-133913[2]

Once you’ve reached the desired length, you can fasten off, attach the yarn to the bottom of the armholes and continue crocheting in the rounds until you’ve reached the desired length for your sleeves.

Above is the dress I’ve created earlier. As you can see, I’ve joined the 2 ends so I’ve ended up crocheting in the rounds. I’ve added buttons at the end and turned my piece around so that the openings are at the back.

That’s one type of yoke done! The other type of yoke is more of a tank top look. We can use the same graph from way above as well. We will be chaining the recommended amount, plus 1 chain for each of the 4 corners, plus 3 for a turning chain. So, for example, for size premature, I will be chaining a chain of 40 plus 4 plus 3. Then in the 4th chain from the hook, make a DC, and make a DC in each of the next 5 sts. In the next st, do a 2 DC, ch 1, 2 DC. Then continue making a DC in each of the next 8 sts. Make another 2 DC, ch 1, 2 DC in the next st, then DC in each of the next 12 sts, (2 DC, ch 1, 2DC) in the next st, DC in each of the next 8 sts, (2 DC, ch 1, 2 DC) in the next st, DC in each of the next 6 sts.

For the next row, I will ch 3 (turning chain), then make a DC in each DC until the ch 1 sp, then make a (2 DC, ch 1, 2 DC) in each ch 1 spaces.

Keep going like this until you’ve reached the recommended measurements. For this type of yoke, you will take the measurements from the number at the very right in each picture in the graph or the edge of your piece when folded. So for size premature, I will keep going until, when folded, my piece measure 7.5 cm. For size newborn, keep going until your piece measure 8 cm, for 0-6 months, 8.5 – 9 cm, etc…

IMG_20170508_142130[2]
The arrow is where you will measure your piece.Β 
Once your piece has reached the recommended measurement, you can then form the armholes. The armholes are formed the same way as the other type of yoke. From here on, you can join your piece or continue turning your piece as you kept going. Β Once you’ve reached the desired length, fasten off and re-attach the yarn at at the bottom of the armholes to crochet your sleeves.

Above is what my dress ended up looking like πŸ™‚ I made 2 dresses, but you can easily make a sweater, cardigan, jacket, hoodie, t-shirt and shirts!

I hope you are able to follow this tutorial and please do not hesitate to comment if you require any help πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Crochet Children’s Yoke in Any Size!

  1. You can also use the same method for making adult sweaters too! I’ve used this for 2 sweaters. It really made what seems like a difficult piece very easy to crochet!! Your daughter is going to be the best dressed baby/toddler/little girl!! Your dresses are lovely. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely! The last picture on the graph is probably telling us how to make it in any other sizes. I just have to figure out the translations haha! I hope my baby will be able to wear the dresses soon! Thank you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

