DIY · Makeup · Makeup Mistakes

Spices, superfood powders in natural, mineral makeup – Why you shouldn’t even try…

So, Pinterest has lately been showing me a lot of pins for homemade, natural, mineral foundation. It makes sense really. I make a lot of my own makeup. In fact, the only thing I don’t make are my eyeshadows and mascara. Mostly because I like a mascara that’s super lengthening and voluminizing and easy to use and make, and because I cannot part with my Kat von D’s Shade and Light palette.

Anyways, as I click through and read all the ingredients in each of different posts, I tend to have the same reaction. I went, “Eww..” and shook my head. Why? Because they all have the same ingredients. Arrowroot powder, cocoa powder and cinnamon powder being the most common ingredients. While turmeric powder, paprika powders and other spices are also included in a few other ingredient lists. Why did I say eww? Because while arrowroot powder can be used in cosmetics, spices shouldn’t! I should know. I’ve tried making natural makeups using these food ingredients. The end of these journey resulted in me crying and throwing away all the ‘makeup’ I’ve made. Why? Because they don’t work and I just ended up throwing money away. We didn’t have much and we still don’t, and I felt so guilty for spending all my money on ingredients that ended up in the bin anyways.

First, arrowroot powder. Yes, you can use it in makeup. I made something using arrowroot powder and it’s great and I still use it. But to use it in your mineral foundation? No. It’s too sheer.

Second, spices. This is a big no no! If you like full coverage foundation, you’ll need A LOT  of these spices to make a full coverage foundation. You’ll also need a lot of work to actually make them stick to your skin. And even once you made it work, you might actually get irritated or find that you actually have an allergic reaction to these spices. Plus, some spices can stain your skin, like turmeric.

Yeah, if you can eat it, it must be safe for you. But it doesn’t mean you should use it on your skin.

Third, superfood powders. Beetroot powders, raspberry powder, kale powders. Sounds great and incredibly beneficial in smoothies, not so great in makeup. Especially in cream products like lipsticks and cream blush. You usually would use oil and waxes to make lipsticks and cream blush, and unfortunately, superfood powders like these can only be dissolved in water. Which is why you use it in smoothies. In oils and waxes, they’ll remain as granules. You’ll go out the door with a rash-looking dots on your cheeks and like you’ve forgotten to remove your lip scrub. Check out my post on this.

Still not convinced?

Below is the ingredient list for an Amuse Bouche Lipstick in the shade Cava by Bite Beauty, a brand made famous because you can actually eat their lipstick.

Cava

-3 Mg Trans-Resveratrol from Vitis Vinifera and Polygonum Cuspidatum.

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil**, Simmondsia Chinesis (Jojoba) Cera (Wax)*, Silica*, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter**, Cera Alba (Beeswax)**, Polyhydroxystearic Acid*, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Wax*, Coco-Caprylate*, Carnauba) Wax**, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Wax*, Hydrogenated Castor Oil*, Flavor, MICA*, Acacia Decurrens Flower Wax*, Polyglyceryin-3*, Tocopherol*, Trans-Resveratrol*, HELIANTHUS Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil**, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract**, Siraitia Grosvenoril (Monk Fruit) Extract*+/- May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891)*, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499)*, Carmine (Ci 75470)*, Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Yellow 6 Lake (Ci 15985), Red 40 Lake (Ci 16035), Red 6 Lake (Ci 15850), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850), Red 28 Lake (Ci 45410), Red 33 Lake (Ci 17200), Manganese Violet (Ci 77742)*, Red 30 Lake (Ci 73360). *Natural, **Organic

I don’t know about you, but I didn’t see any beetroot powder listed in the ingredients and yet this brand is quite a trusted natural brand.

Still not convinced?

Below is a list of ingredients for the famous Bare Minerals Original Loose Powder Foundation, taken straight from their website.

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Titanium Dioxide: 12.6%, Zinc Oxide 21.8% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Bismuth Oxychloride, Mica, Iron Oxides

Here’s the ingredient list of Eco Minerals’ Mineral Blush:

Base ingredients: Mica, Zinc Oxide
Ingredients depending on colour (+/-) Tin Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarines

And here’s the ingredients for Inika Organic Loose Mineral Eye Shadow in Autumn Plum:

AUTUMN PLUM: Mica, May Contain (+/-) Zinc Oxide, Tin Oxide, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288).

I’ve just given you ingredients from 4 different makeup products from 4 different brands, and I don’t see any spices or superfood powders listed in any of their ingredients lists. And I do believe that each of these brands are trusted natural, organic brands. If they, the trusted professionals, are not using it, why should you?

Here’s Marie, a woman I always trust when it comes to making homemade makeup, showing you what the end result of making makeup with food look like:

I have to say, before I discovered Marie’s blog ,I too made makeup with food products and ended up exactly as how Marie’s experiment ended up in her video.

Don’t get me wrong, you can still make natural makeup, just not using food products. I mean, there must be a reason why in all those blog posts about making your own homemade, natural, organic ‘mineral makeup’ there’s no actual photos of the ‘makeup’ going on the face. Or why there’s no blog posts months later about it.

Here’s Marie’s blog post on natural products. It’s a very interesting read and a must for all those wanting to make natural makeup.

Also check out Marie’s book Make It Up for all the recipes you need to make your own makeup!

For more read on making your own beauty products, Point of Interest is a treasure trove!

 

Leave a Reply

