DIY · Makeup

DIY Unicorn Antioxidant Oil

I’m a skeptic when it comes to pretty skincare product. Especially those shown around by beauty gurus/influensters in various social media outlets. They could be showing this pretty skincare because everyone else is doing it, or because they were sent the products for free and they want to keep getting free stuff, or because they know they’ll get more views/likes when featuring this certain product. Let’s face it, we’ll never know whether they were actually paid by the company to promote their products or not.

Just by reading the title of this blog, some of you beauty lovers will probably already know which product I’m talking about. Yep! I’m talking about the Farsali Unicorn Essence! This bottle cost a whopping $119 NZD (available in Life Pharmacy). Hahahahaha… Nope! Yes, it’s pretty and pink, but it looks like (and going by what I’ve read and seen) any other serums to me. There has been mixed reviews on  this product. I can’t tell you what it truly likes since I’ve never even seen one in real life! But, truthfully, I am not here to rave or  bash the product. It seems like the product is harmless enough. Yes, I’ve read that their ingredients might not be good for your skin, but I don’t know in what concentration these ingredients are in. For example,propanediol, ethylhexylglycerin and glyceryl polyacrylate can be an irritant, but probably only in higher concentrations. And I don’t think there would be a high concentration of these ingredients in the product. That being said, I still wouldn’t use this product anyways since my skin is currently highly sensitive because it’s very, very dry right now.

When I read through the claims of the Unicorn Essence, what jumped at me the most is word ‘antioxidant.’ Guess who has a $15 (NZD) bottle of an antioxidant facial oil??? Me, if you haven’t guessed already. I featured it briefly in my last natural products haul. Sure, it’s not the exact same products and ingredients (to be honest, the Swisse Cranberry Antioxidant Facial Oil probably has better ingredients) but the antioxidant in there works the same way anyways. I personally prefer the facial oil since, again, my skin is very. very dry and sensitive at the moment. Which means that any other products other than oil will not work and will just irritate the skin. Trust me, I’ve tried many different moisturizers from both drugstore and high-end products, and only pure oil works.

So, since I have a bottle of antioxidant facial oil and lots of micas (see the haul and swatches here), I figured why not trying making my own unicorn oil? If nothing else, it would look pretty in pictures!

After reading and watching about the original product, it become immediately apparent that they pretty pink colour doesn’t actually translate to your skin. Which is good, because I don’t want pink shimmers all over my face while walking around the supermarket buying nappies.

So for this DIY you need:

  • An antioxidant facial oil (or any other facial oil you would like to use)
  • Empty bottle
  • Dropper
  • Tiny bowl or cup
  • A tiny spoon
  • Mica
  • Silica microsphere (optional, only used to give a dry-touch finish)

IMG_20170714_160223[1]

To make the unicorn oil, simply measure out your antioxidant oil into a bowl. I only have a 5ml bottle, so I measured out 5ml of oil. Then I add the mica and silica microsphere (if using).Go a little bit at a time until you get the desired effect. I used a teeny tiny spoon to add the powders and mix it, but you can use a toothpick to be honest. For this one, I decided to add interference mica (the kind you see in magical unicorn/mermaid highlighter palette, like the ones by ABH, Kat von D, Limecrime, etc…) and a chrome mica. I chose these 3 mica (can be seen above, to see swatches click here) since it’ll give off a pink shimmery, duochrome, iridescent effect. I don’t know if you can see it in the picture below, but adding the interference mica alone, already gave the oil a pretty effect.

P70714-150548[1].jpg
No filter in this picture!
Below is the oil with the pink chrome mica added and mixed in.

IMG_20170714_160421[1]

Then simply decant into your dropper bottle.

IMG_20170715_093853[1]

 

I tried this first on my hand.

P70714-151052[1]

I blended one part of it and I can not see the shimmer (unless I look super close up) or the colour.

P70714-151126[1]

Then I tried it on my face. The pictures below are not edited.

Here is my bare face.

P70714-151920[1]

And a shot of the cheek I’ll be putting the unicorn oil on.

P70714-151924[1]

Here’s the unicorn oil going on.

P70714-152052[1]
Sorry about the face…
Here’s me crying out unicorn tears.

P70714-152105[1]

And here’s the oil blended in.

P70714-152126[1]

As you can see, my face may look dewier because of the oil, but there’s really no shimmer or glitter or colour. The pink shade just blended right in. I’ve photograph myself in a few different lighting, moving my face a bit a time to see if I can detect any colour or shimmer, but there’s really nothing.

I usually use this oil before wearing a foundation anyways so I know the oil itself will not affect how my makeup go on.

Adding the micas don’t really do anything, but it’s certainly pretty to photograph though!

IMG_20170715_094125[1]

 

If you want to make the Farsali Rose Gold Elixir, then check out Marie’s recipe (which is basically the same kind of stuff, although she wrote up her recipes based on another serum). If you want to make their Volcanic Elixir, then I would suggest buying a bottle of tamanu oil, since that is basically it…

And that’s it! Enjoy your very own unicorn tears oil!!!

3 thoughts on “DIY Unicorn Antioxidant Oil

Leave a Reply

