Crochet

Crochet Unicorn Slippers (with flip flop soles!)

I was debating whether or not to post this. Let me just get this out of the way first. This is not a pattern for beginner. In fact this is not really a pattern, it’s more of a guide. You will need to be able to modify the guide to fit you.

This unicorn slipper is inspired by everything that is unicorn inspired. Seriously, unicorn things are everywhere these days! Unicorn cakes, unicorn onesie, unicorn makeup! The possibility are endless! I went to Kmart a few weeks ago and saw some rainbow unicorn slippers. They were adorable! I nearly grabbed one but then I remembered I had a pair of flip flops waiting to be turned to something, and some pretty white, pink and purple ombre yarns I got on sale. So I decided to crochet a unicorn slipper instead!

If you are not familiar with making crochet footwear using flip flop soles, please go to Make and Do Crew’s blog to learn all about it and how to poke holes on your soles. The only thing I did differently in preparing the soles are sewing a blanket stitch instead of doing an initial single crochet.

Now for this project you will need a 3mm crochet hook and a corresponding yarn. I used Moda Vera’s Faith yarn. This yarn is made of mohair and therefore is very fibrous. While fibrous yarn can be tricky to work it, I feel it’s worth it since it’s lightweight but warm. You want this since the slipper will naturally have “holes” on it when you crochet the top bits.

To start with, after you finish doing the initial single crochet or sewing the blanket stitch, go around the whole sole with single crochets once more.

Mark the back, left and right stitch. To make it easier, the left and right stitch are placed above the left and right “holes”.

Now, single crochet to the left marked st (move st marker), then single crochet to the right marked st (move st marker). Turn, leave remaining stitches unworked. Skip the first st, single crochet in the next st and in each of the next st until the left marked st. Turn, leave remaining stitches unworked. Skip the first st and sc to the right marked st. Keep doing single crochets, turns and skips until you reach the desired height for the sides of your slipper. Don’t forget to move your marker! I did mine until the side of my big toe is covered, which is about 6 rows.

I finished on the right marked st, then I fasten off. It doesn’t really matter on which side you finish. In the picture above, the red line is where I attached my right stitch marker and the blue one is the 6 rows of the sides I did.

Now, the top bit is a bit tricky. I did a couple of experiments for the top bit. First, I found a couple of stitches that are parallel to one another. In between the 2 stitches that were parallel to one another, there was 6 other stitches. So I did an initial of 8 single crochets.

 Then I chain one, turn, single crochet back across those 8 stitches. To attach it to the sole, I did a single crochet decrease. In the picture below, you can see that the 2 red lines are the 2 rows of 8 single crochets I did. The blue curve is where I re-attached the yarn. The green line is the stitch where I will first insert my hook to begin my single crochet decrease.

IMG_20170811_115419IMG_20170811_115607

Once that’s done, I chained one, turn and sc across back to the other side, the I attached it to the sole again by doing a decrease, ch 1, turn and sc across back to the other side again. After a few rows, your piece should look like this.

IMG_20170811_115830IMG_20170811_120011

Once you’ve done a few rows you will also be able to see the “holes” from where you attach the top to the soles.

IMG_20170811_120201

This is why using a more fibrous yarn will be better, since the hairs of the yarn will kind of cover the holes and keep your feet warm and toasty.

I continue going back and forth across the top and attaching it to the soles until I reach where I fasten off. Here’s the thing, because of the shape of the flip flop soles, your top will not be straight. You will end up with a few leftover stitches on one side, while the other side is complete. In the picture below, the left side has no more stitches, while the right side still has 3 stitches leftover. When this happens, I usually just single crochet on top of the last single crochet until I finish the other side.

IMG_20170811_120306

If you’re not sure what I mean, take a look at this picture below. The blue line is the 6 rows of the sides I did, where I went back and forth. The red line is the initial right marked st. Where that blue line ends at the top is the stitch where you want to finish your top. But don’t fasten off! Continue going back and forth, but this time do your single crochet decreases going down the sides (the blue line). Also, when you reached the middle of the top piece, do a single crochet decrease. This way the top piece won’t gape as much and will be a snugger fit for your feet.

IMG_20170811_113512

You should finish on the side where you fasten off the get the desired height for your sides. Once you’ve reached the bottom (remember those initial single crochet round you did at the beginning?) continue to single crochet to the back marked st. Then do 2 rounds of single crochet going around the whole piece. Don’t do a single crochet decrease at the middle of your top piece this time. Finish at the back marked st, slip stitch on the next stitch, fasten off and sew in the end.

Remember how I said I experimented a bit for the top piece? Well, the other way I did it is by doing the initial first 8 single crochet slanted. So instead of it being parallel, I slanted the initial 8 single crochet towards the pinky toe.

IMG_20170811_114631
Instead of this…
IMG_20170811_120639
… I did this!

I was hoping that both sides will even out and I won’t have any stitches leftover. You see, because the first way created leftover stitches on one side, the other side ends up with stacked single crochets. This means when going down the sides, I have to create my first single crochet decrease down the sides of the stacked single crochets first.

IMG_20170811_120506.jpg
The red line is the stacked single crochets. I have to start my single crochet decreases down the side of the red line first, instead of going down the green line (the actual sides).

Although the second way initially looked promising, I still end up with a 1 or 2 stitches leftover. You could choose to do it either way.

In the picture below, the left slipper is made using the “slanted top” technique, while the right slipper is made using the “parallel top” technique.

IMG_20170811_120916.jpg

You can hardly see the difference between the 2 tops, but you can see that the left slipper has a top that is slightly slanted to the left.

Anyways, to make the horn, you will need either a 4 ply cotton yarn and a 3.5mm crochet hook, or an 8 ply cotton yarn and a 4mm crochet hook. We will be working in the round, (so no joining) and you will need a stitch marker. Start by creating a magic circle.

Round 1: 4sc in magic circle,

Round 2: 1 sc in each st around,

Round 3: 2sc in each st around,

Round 4: 1 sc in each st around,

Round 5: *1 sc in the next st, 2 sc in the next st,* rep around,

Round 6: 1 sc in each st around,

Round 7: *1 sc in the next 2 sts, 2 sc in the next st,* rep around,

Round 8: 1 sc in each st around,

Sl st in the next st, fasten off, leave a long tail for sewing.

Make 2 of these horns.

IMG_20170811_121411

Attach to the top of your slippers.

IMG_20170811_121519

To create the eyes for the unicorn, you can either embroider it on, sew on black fabric or crochet a chain and sew it on. Be creative! I choose to crochet a chain of 10 four times, then I sew the eyes on.

IMG_20170811_121635

And complete!

IMG_20170811_121817IMG_20170811_121916IMG_20170811_122241

Gosh, I hope this wasn’t too confusing…

As always, feel free to comment me your questions below. I’ll try to help as much as I can!

Happy crocheting!

P.S: Speaking of unicorns, do you guys know about Justine from Chubby Knots Crochet? She’s currently running a campaign to to take 500 toys to Lebanon by December to give to Syrian refugee kids. I’ve just finished my first toy and it happened to be a unicorn! If you can crochet, or know anyone that can, why not get behind this campaign? You can find all the info in Chubby Knots Crochet’s Facebook and Instagram page.

IMG_20170816_140012[1]

 

 

4 thoughts on “Crochet Unicorn Slippers (with flip flop soles!)

Leave a Reply

